How to turn a failed pie into a delicious cobbler

How to turn a failed pie into a delicious cobbler

I really hate making pies. My crust never seems to turn out and I am alwasy frustrated. But when my boyfriend’s mom gave me a great push pie crust recipe I had to try it. I’ve used it a few times now to make topless pies but I’ve never tried it for a fruit pie. I thought I would be smart and make extra crust and just put dobs on the top to make a pseudo top crust…well my attempt at making pie totally failed.

Stupid move #1: I used forzen berries and read somewhere that I should thaw them before use…wrong!

Stupid move # 2: I made the bottom crust and thought maybe blind baking the crust with an egg wash would prevent the crust from getting soggy. I remembered to line the crust with foil and put weights (I used rice) to prevent the crust from shrinking…wrong again. The end result: a mushy bottom crust that half stuck to the aluminum foil…and ended up in the garbage.

At least I still had enough crust to use for the top layer and I decided to make a pie with only the top half (aka kind of like a cobbler). Note leaving out the bottom crust also cuts out half the fat 🙂

So here is the recipe of my pie turned to cobbler.

Crust (this is enough to make a full bottom crust but you could just use it for the top):

1.5 cups flour

1/4 tsp baking bowder

1/2 cup butter softened

1 egg

1/3 cup granulated sugar

Filling

5 cups frozen mixed berries (thawed)

4 Tbsp corn starch

3 Tbsp whole wheat flour

A few squirts of lime juice (1tsp maybe)

1 tsp cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 425F

2. Put all of the ingredients for the crust into a food processor and process on high until it can hold it’s shape.

3. Mix all of the ingredients for the filling in a large bowl

4. Place all of the filling into a 9×9 inch square pan

5. Break off little pieces of the dough ball and lay them on top of the filling

6. Bake on bottom rack for 20min then turn heat down to 350F and bake for another 10min, crust should be golden brown and firm to the touch

7. Serve warm with your favourite icecream and Enjoy!

pie

 

One thought on “How to turn a failed pie into a delicious cobbler

Leave a Reply

