Spilling the Beans

I recently received Spilling the Beans by Julie Van Rosendaal and Sue Duncan from some friends for my birthday, and let me just say I LOVE it! I have used it to make everything from thai chicken with black beans, focaccia bread with white beans and banana bread with beans. All of the things I made have turned out great and I love that I can impress friends and family with baked goods made with beans that don’t taste like they are.

Although none of the  baked recipes  really have that much protein in them (most only use about 1/2 a can of beans) they have more protein than baked goods made without beans.

Also the book is filled with great pictures. Which is always a bonus!

Overall I rate this book a 4 out of 5. I wish the recipes were a bit easier to follow, the steps are written in paragraph form which makes it a bit harder to follow. But overall the recipes I’ve tried so far are great and my family and friends have loved them!

Leave a Reply

