Chocolate Date Balls

These date balls are a creation I made by throwing any food I had in my cupboards that could be eaten raw into my food processor and hitting blend…Anyways I think the end result is a delicious and healthy treat. You can change up the recipe as you like (add more or less ingredients and add your own ingredients). This is another recipe that you can make gluten free by either leaving out the oats or using gluten free oats.

I wanted to keep the recipe raw but you could also probably use some kaluha or rum in place of the water if you want to spice up the recipe a bit 😉

I took these up to my roommates and they were gone in minutes!

Ingredients:

6 medjool dates, pitted and chopped
1/2 cup quick oats
1/4 cup unsweetened chocolate chips
1/4 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1/2 tsp vanilla
4 tbsp cocoa powder
6 tbsp water
2 tbsp hemp hearts
2 tbsp chia seed
1/2 cup natural peanut butter

Method:

1. Toss all ingredients into a food processor and process until well blended (can keep some chunks of chocolate chips etc)
2. Put into the fridge for at least an hour
3. Roll into balls and store in the fridge

Like I’ve mentioned in most of my posts feel free to stray from the ingredients as posted, I don’t think I’ve ever made one recipe the same twice. Experiment and make your own creations!
Some things to try: add some molasses or honey instead of a few of the dates, use more oatmeal, add some cinnamon, roll balls into chia and hemp seeds instead of adding them into the processor, be creative!

Enjoy!

Using eatracker I’ve provided a nutrient analysis of this recipe but it’s a bit rough as I forgot to count how many balls came out (and I may have eaten the equivalent of a few balls while making them 🙂 ).

Nutrient Analysis

Nutrient Amount Per Serving
Calories (kcal)

67.5

Fat (g)

3.5

Saturated Fat (g)

0.8

Trans Fat (g)

0

Cholesterol (mg)

0.0

Sodium (mg)

1.1

Potassium (mg)

100.7

Carbohydrate (g)

8.6

Fibre (g)

1.7

Sugar (g)

5.0

Protein (g)

1.9

Vitamin A (RAE)

0.5

Vitamin C (mg)

0.0

Calcium (mg)

14.2

Iron (mg)

0.4

Vitamin D (μg)

0.0

Vitamin E (mg)

0.4

Thiamin (mg)

0.0

Riboflavin (mg)

0.0

Niacin (NE)

1.1

Folate (DFE)

9.1

Vitamin B6 (mg)

0.0

Vitamin B12 (μg)

0.0

Leave a Reply

