Kuri Squash Curry

As you might know from reading some of my other posts I was living in Prince George. Well I’ve recently moved back to Vancouver and I’m loving the abundance of farmers markets that are still full of fall produce and locally made foods. With it being squash season I thought I would try cooking with a squash that was new to me. This time I tried Kuri Squash!

Not only is squash a tasty vegetable that is easy to prepare but it is also loaded with antioxidants like beta-carotene and anti-inflammatory properties. Squash are also filled with seeds that can be roasted to make a delicious and healthy snack. As a tip coat your seeds with your favourite toppings like salt, curry powder or garlic salt and roast on low heat like 250F for 20-25min to minimize loss of nutrients from heat.

This week I bought Kuri squash, It has a buttery chestnutty flavour that adds a great texture to curry.

This squash is really tasty and the curry I made below is very dense and filling perfect for a cold fall night. The only issue I have with this squash is that it is incredibly difficult to peal and cut, I would recommend having someone do this part for you as I enlisted my fiancees help in this process. What I might try next is keeping the skin on and see if the texture is soft enough to eat. Feel free to try this and post your results.

kuri squash

I modified this recipe from Carpe Season.

Thai Green Kuri Squash

Ingredients:

1 TBSP Coconut Oil
1 Yellow onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 inch piece of ginger, peeled and grated
2 TBSP Green curry paste
2 TBSP curry powder
1 Can of Coconut milk, I used low fat coconut milk
2.5 TBSP Soy Sauce, I used lite soy sauce (it’s lower in sodium)
2 TBSP Sweet Chili Sauce
1 Kuri Squash, peeled and cut into cubes
1 TBSP Brown Sugar
Juice of Half a lime
1/4 cup of water or chicken stock
salt and pepper
1 Yellow Pepper, sliced
1 head of broccoli, florets
1 Can Chickpeas
Garnish with: Chopped green onions and cilantro

Serve on Brown Basmati rice

Method:

1. Heat a large pot on medium heat and melt the coconut oil, sautee the ginger, garlic and onions until the onions are translucent
2. Add the curry paste and curry powder and cook a few more minutes
3. Add the kuri squash, coconut milk, water, sugar, lime juice, soy sauce and chili paste, bring to a boil then lower the heat and simmer until the squash is just about done, about 15 minutes
4. Add the broccoli, peppers and chickpeas, cook for about 5 minutes more until the vegetables are tender crisp
5. Pour over cooked rice and top with chopped green onions, cilantro and some fresh squeezed lime juice

Leave a Reply

